Athlete of the MonthOctober

Brandon Priest

Ideal always moves forward with the community

Name: Brandon Priest
Age:27
AOTM: October
Member of Ideal since:  2014

Tell us about yourself!

I was born and raised in BA and Coweta. I went to Southwestern College in Winfield, Kansas where I met my wife Kara. I was a college football player there for 4 years and graduated in 3.5 years with my bachelor’s degree and moved back home. I started CrossFit to stay active and make myself workout to maintain a healthy, fit lifestyle knowing that I wouldn’t be getting the rigorous exercise daily that I did in college.

What do you do for a job?

I am a Desktop Support Technician Sr. at The NORDAM Group. This basically consists of support of any company infrastructure including computers, printers, network connections, etc.

Tell us what you like to do.

In my spare time, I am a PC gamer on my custom built desktop PC. Other than that I’m either at CrossFit, or just with my family and/or friends hanging out.

What did you do for working out before CrossFit and what brought you
to Ideal CrossFit?

I actually came to Ideal the summer before my senior year in college. I moved back to Tulsa for an internship at NORDAM, and I knew I had to do something to stay in shape and maintain my strength over the summer before I returned to school the next year to jump right in to 2-3 practices per day. I actually made it back to school ready for football about 10 pounds of solid muscle heavier, and the better shape than everyone there, including those who were there all summer in off-season conditioning.

What was your first impression?  How has it changed?

I loved the competition/timed aspect of working out, and I was constantly learning new movements and techniques in the training. It was so nice to do something besides just bench press and back squats. I was amazed at how strong I was getting while also improving my mobility and flexibility.

CrossFit is still CrossFit, which I love. However, Ideal specifically has changed a little. It remains and always will be a second family to me, and one heck of a community to be a part of. Ideal always moves forward with the community in mind and is always doing what is best for everyone. Your skill level or condition here doesn’t matter, we all are worth the same here.

What are some accomplishments you are proud of?

Definitely being able to do muscle-ups. My first muscle up was done when I had gained an additional 15lbs or so (again, pure muscle) and still was moving my body like never before. And I had been CrossFitting for a couple years. So if you still can’t do a muscle-up, just keep going!

What are your goals at this time?

Right now I’m actually trying to lose about 5-10 lbs. Kara and I took a lot of time this year between getting married last November, then building a house early this year and moving into said house in late August. We’re easing back into it now and trying to stay consistent. With the marriage and time off, I’ve put on about 10lbs that is hindering a lot of my body weight movements that I’d like to get back off. Just trying to keep at it and watch what I eat!

Previous AOTM:

«

Next AOTM:

»